What is the best system one can make under $5000

Hi,
I am new to speakers in general and have a couple of decent headphones. What is the best system one can hope to create with a budget of $5000. It is ok to include second-hand components as well. It should allow a turntable and at least one optical input and headphone output.

The listening area is 13ft X 20ft.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

neo_the_one

@ “mesch”:

I totally agree, and believe likewise.

I done put two together, starting with basics and provided an upgrade path to boot, without going over $5,000.00, with money left over in both cases and that is with what is assumingly entry-level interconnects and speaker cables.

And while harder with a $5,000.00 budget than it is with say, a $20,000.00 to $30,000.00 budget, it is possible to put together a musically satisfying system with just $5,000.00 if components and accessories are chosen carefully.

—Charles—

Yes, and the OP never responded regarding what was done. 

To anyone interested in this topic, I believe a very fine system can be put together for $5000. 

OR for around the same price, I would put this setup together.

It would be for music listening only, it’s something easy and simple to put together, so you won’t have a room full of equipment that dominates your room.  And it includes an integrated amplifier and a music streamer in one (nothing extra to buy), and you’ll get a phono input, so you can still add a turntable.  So in a way, it’s like having both, your cake and eating it too.

And because the speakers selected for this system are much smaller than the speakers I selected for the previous system, if bass is wanted or needed from this system, then a subwoofer is necessary.  But that would be left up to you at this point.  The speakers I have selected for this system are the Wharfedale EVO 4.2’s

Same turntable is included in this system as well.

And this system is as follows….