Bose 901 Series 1 & 2 versus KEF 104/2's and 105/3's

I've been enjoying my 5 channel Sealed Box Bose 901's for almost 2 years. I was recently gifted 4 KEF 105/3's & 2 104/2's from a friend. The Speakers are on the whole in good shape. I've assembled one pair of perfectly working 105'3's from the four. The other two 105/3 need the Uni-Q midrange replaced and I blew out one of the Simply Speakers replacement Tweeters (no longer available). The remaining 4 Cavity COupled Woofers are in various states

I'd replaced the Ferrofluid in both 104/2 Tweeters and the foam Donuts on all four 8" Woofers.

My 901 impressions in our 28' x 17' Living Room in our Apartment (moving to a real house in a few months) are :

• Bose 901's work best when the main front L & R Speakers are 2' in front of the Wall and very very far away form room boundary walls thereby eliminating Boomy Bass. There is little of the "reflecting effect" and more omnidirectional when placed along the long wall in the room 12' apart
  • Using miniDSP instead of the old Analog Bose EQ's (which I'd personally rebuilt) gave the best results
  • All highs, sweet mids, and Bass down to 30Hz.....it must be Bose !
  • Always wanted a pair since I was a kid and it's been a long ($$$) strange trip indeed
  • Great Speakers when setup correctly

My KEF 105/3 &  impressions in our 28' x 17' Living Room in our Apartment are :

• The 105/3's have a great Upper Bass/Midrange/Treble balance and extension. The Cavity Coupled 8" Woofers in larger Bandpass enclosures have prodigious amounts of clean detailed Bass. No Subwoofers need apply !
  • 104/2's by contrast are a bit more mellowed regarding Tonal Balance. Treble Extension/Vocal Sibilances can be subdued at times but when required. The highs are there when called upon. One of their Woofers has a lazy voice coil, nut works well
  • Bass is more "polite" than the 105/3's. But like the highs. when called upon, they kick in !