VPI Classic 3 vs Basis 2200

Hi,

I currently have a classic 3 with a Dynavector XV1-S, which I'm enjoying but am also open to an upgrade. I was told that the Basis 2200 is a huge step up. Any insights and opinions based on direct experience will be really appreciated.

Cheers
128x128moryoga
Well, I have some experience with VPI and Basis, yes, Basis is a different league. The better your System is (Preamp, Phono) the note you will notice. More weight behind every detail, a better musical flow, dramatically reduced distortions (coloration), deeper soundstage based on better parts (material, precision).
If you want a huge step up look at TW ACUSTIC Better than Basis by a wide margin.
I've owned a few VPI tables, and a Basis 2500 Signature. Personally, I preferred the Basis table, but just as with anything else in this hobby, it is all system synergy dependent. The Basis was more revealing and transparent, while VPI tables tend to be warmer and fuller sounding.

I would say the sound is more different than better, just like asking someone whether they prefer Nordost cables or Purist Audio cables, they each will work fine with the appropriate gear.
You haven't heard what the XV-1s can do until you get it out of that jmw arm.

And the Basis is a better table. Agree 100% with John on the 2500 Sig.
Thank you all for your responses. Seems like the Basis is coming out on top.
Next question is: if you had to choose between a Basis 2200 Signature with base, or a 2500 with a Grahm 2.2?
Thanks
I would go for the 2200 Signature over the 2500 non-Signature for two reasons. I believe the Vector 4 arm on the 2200 Sig is better than the Graham 2.2 arm, and the 2200 Sig also has the Calibrator base.