Best SET power amp below $5,000

Curious to get the benefit of the knowledge in this forum.

I currently have a low power SET amp, paired with 94db loudspeakers. Sounds great, but tbh, I bought it 20 years ago, and even then, my process was not particularly thoughtful.

Not trying to start an argument about push-pull vs SET. Though I am not an electrician or sound engineer, my instinct is that a simpler circuit is better. At this point, I am just interested in what folks here think are the best options for SET amps—in the $5,000 price range. I am also open to the feedback that the price range is too limiting.

I am open to new or used and given the many years that vacuum tubes have been used for this purpose, curious if there is any technology advantage in newer products, holding their condition constant (ie comparing a 1950s era SET amp to a 2022 design, both in mint condition).

saulh

My speakers are same-ish sensitivity, and I am extremely pleased with my Whammerdyne DGA-1 stereo amp. 4.3 watts (handling peaks of up to 10 watts) of 2A3 tube wonderfulness. Plays plenty loud enough for me. Transparent, yet still full-sounding. Balanced freq range top to bottom with superb mid-range/vocals.

https://whammerdyne.com/product/damn-good-amp-dga-1/

I have a Dennis Had Universal SET, the Aric Audio Super 300B SET, and an Arte Forma Aida 2A3 amp.  I thought I was in heaven with the Aric Audio Super 300B SET but there is something about the 2A3 tube sound that has kept me coming back to that Arte Forma Aida 2A3.  if your speakers truly are 94dB efficient, and you don't listen much beyond 80-85 dB, and think you can live with 3ish fabulous watts then I suggest you look into 2A3 amps.  The tubes you use are important and the easiest choice would be the JJ 2A3-40's but NOS RCA and Sylvania tubes are also fabulous.

I currently have a low power SET amp, paired with 94db loudspeakers.

What is the make and model of your SET amp and speakers?