KT120 replacement options in a Cronus Magnum II

I have a "new to me" Cronus Magnum II" that came with a shot KT120. Thankfully the am still plays with half the power on the one channel. I'm having no luck finding this tube. Being made in Russia and in high demand I expect the situation to stay lean for some time. Rouge reported that the KT88’s, KT90’s, and KT77's are all compatible. I'm new to the tube amp space and I was hoping to read for a few months before going tube shopping, but I have a situation. 

Has anyone "downgraded" the Magnum II to one of these other tubes?  I'm guessing I should buy a pair so both channels have the same output. Is that right?

What are your thoughts for the best way forward? I spent most of my budget so a pair of KT150's is really not an option. 

markcasazza

And now making tubes for some high-end amp manufacturers, easy to spot, see them at my local audio dealer. Several tubes out now since. Quietly working in the background. Counted 75 different versions and levels of tubes in production now this week. They don’t seem to be slowing down yet.

@decooney - that’s fair! I might give them a shot if and when their new KT120 hits market. I still kinda want to be a tube snob, but my desire for good sounding tubes (that are actually available) far eclipses that. And I have to admit the VAC-selected Shuguang / China 12AX7’s they use in their gear sound DAMN good - some of the finest!

@mulveling "Unfortunately, I think Psvane DID try to make KT120 several years ago - and it was a complete bust due to failures and general poor reliability."

They did, and yes, several years ago. Same was said about PSVANE 6SN7s, and KT88s too, and fast forward five years, some changes for the better.. New people and equipment acquired since. So far so good on my last pairs of CV181 MKII 6sN7s and helped a few friends re-tube with quads of PSVANE KT88s, no issues past two years.