KT120 replacement options in a Cronus Magnum II

I have a "new to me" Cronus Magnum II" that came with a shot KT120. Thankfully the am still plays with half the power on the one channel. I'm having no luck finding this tube. Being made in Russia and in high demand I expect the situation to stay lean for some time. Rouge reported that the KT88’s, KT90’s, and KT77's are all compatible. I'm new to the tube amp space and I was hoping to read for a few months before going tube shopping, but I have a situation. 

Has anyone "downgraded" the Magnum II to one of these other tubes?  I'm guessing I should buy a pair so both channels have the same output. Is that right?

What are your thoughts for the best way forward? I spent most of my budget so a pair of KT150's is really not an option. 

markcasazza

Showing 5 responses by markcasazza

Budget is a bit of an issue. I understand it may not be ideal, but what is the downside to getting a pair of KT88s and holding the remaining working KT120 for when the next KT120 goes? 

I don't think the tubes are as much tired as the previous owner never heard of biasing them. There was 1 position where the bias was way off! I'll bet that's where the now dead one sat. The amp let's me bias per tube and it was the first thing I did after an initial warm up period and how I discovered I was down 1 tube. Okay, yeah, I did not notice that 1 tube was not glowing. I was just playing the amp quietly and working across the room. My listening room is also my work from home office.

As a data point, the amp sounds absolutely amazing even with only 1 tube on the one channel. Yes, if I drive it hard the one channel starts to deteriorate, but that is not normal for me. My, also new to me, Cerwin Vega E312s are very efficient and I don't need to push the amp to more than fill my room.