Is a Denon 5803 too much for B&W CDM 1NT's?

I have just recently really taken up getting into my system. Over the last few months I have been through a whole bunch of different equiptment some of which I really have liked and others I haven't. My question is, I now am running B&W CDM-1NT's as my mains along with a M&K subwoofer. I have been using a Denon 4802R for the last two years with no problems what-so-ever. I recently purchased a Denon 5803 to give it a shot. I figued that it has some of the features that the 4802 doesn't have, which I might enjoy....But is this too much power for the cdm's? They have a raiting of 120 watts, while the denon 5803 puts out a whole 170 watts. Is this just going to give me more headroom, or should I really worry about damaging the speakers.

Thanks for any assistance you can give. I will appreciate anything you can offer. I have been looking for information regarding this topic on the forum, but have not found anything that really addresses this specific question.

Ben
bearotti
I would read a lot on hifi before putting in any more of that kind of money - you would end up with better sound for sure.

You can start here. Also www.hifichoice.co.uk is a good place for reviews of products.

If you really want good music, I would set up a dedicated 2-channel music system. For movies, your present system will do.

You might want to hear pre/power amps from makers like Krell, audio research, and mark levinson. I would buy them used however - you can get them here and other places like www.audioweb.com

This way, you will save a lot of money - also you can resell them without losing a lot if you don't like them.

Since you just got the 5803, I would just enjoy it for a while, before upgrading. Your wife will prabably agree. In the mean time, if you should desire a even better music system, I would try to hear as many systems in hifi shops as I can - before upgrading.

You can also chat alive on www.audioasylum.com and ask questions.