speaker/amp combo for 1300?

Hi there,

I originally had an opportunity to purchase a vintage audio system (+25years) but decided to pass on the offer and explore other gears that are suitable for my musical tastes (within the constraints of my budget).

First, a brief introduction of myself: As a recent college grad I have lived with roommates during the last 5 years and as a result I have been listening to music primarily through headphones (e4c, ER4-S, and HD580). Finally I have the opportunity to invest in a very modest audio system. I am hoping to build a 2-channel system and will require a preamp/amp combo (or integrated) with a set of speakers, costing no more than 1300.

I listen mostly to intimate classical pieces (sonatas, quartets and concertos), female jazz vocals and folk/bluegrass (Dylan, Joni, Krauss, etc). I would love to have sweet sounding mids without sacrificing the highs. In terms of earphones, I sold the E4C’s and replaced it with the ER4-S because I couldn’t stand the recessed highs of the E4Cs.

With such a modest budget, I am seriously thinking of purchasing an integrated amp. The Portal Panache comes to mind, but within my budget constraints it may be more suitable to spend more on the speakers first. My source is a laptop containing my FLAC files that is connected to my Squeezebox.

Thank you in advance for your responses. Greatly appreciated!
agent_kang
Post removed 
One of my absolute favorite systems in that price range is the Audio Refinement complete with B&W CDM 1NT's. A fantastic set up when I had it.

I still own the audio refinement (this is my fifth one) although don't own the B&W's anymore. Just a simple great system that is good with female vocals, strings, acoustic music and even folk and bluegrass.
Post removed