Yamaha RX-V4600 rear speaker volume;dvd vs VCR

Howdy. I recently purchased a Yammi RX-V4600 for the HT setup. I am kind of new at this so please bear with me. I have gone through the auto setup, used the manual setup and basically read the owners manual like a bible (front to rear & rear to front for days) Can anyone enlighten me on a couple of things please.
1) When I play a VCR tape with Dolby souround encritped audio the system works & sounds awsome. "Goldeneye" movie is the best. Cars, bullets, everything seem to come from in front go behind me etc. When I watch movies using the DVD or the satelite, the rear channel speakers are all but not there. Most everything seems to come from the front three speakers. If I put my ear to the rear speakers, I can hear very small audible sound, but it is very minimal and is almost like a small echo. What's the deal? The only way I can get any volume (to the rears) while watching DVD or satelite is setting the system to 7 channel stereo. But then it isn't in surround, is it....?
2) Also I have listend to movies in avery type of surround setting the unit has. Some are pretty good, some are deplorable and reek of echo & bad delay.
Dolby 5.1, DTS, PLX, PLXII, etc.? When I play a DVD, which one of the plethora of multi chennle settings should I set the unit to, or does the unit pick the right one on "auto"?
These settings are driving me crazy...
Equipment: Sony DVP-NSN900V DVD/SCD palyer, Yammaha RX-V4600, 5 speakers (no sub yet) front large & receiver set to large & EQ set to "check;front" for bigger front mains.
Thanks for any input.
"The old grey matter just ain't what is used to be"
-John
jsd52756
Your DVD player and Cable box digital out is not properly setup, they are both likely on PCM, they need to be set on bitstream or Dolby Digital.
Jsd52756,

I am currently using a Yamaha as a pre/pro. Here are some basics. As dedwards said check the DVD player to make sure its set to dolby digital anhd not PCM.