Meridian 558 vs. Bryston 6B, Arag 8008x3

I'm looking for a multi-channel solution, eventually to bi-amp B&W N802s. I've eliminated the Krells, ML and Rowlands, thinking that although the Quality is there (Big "Q"), so is the price. All mentioned provide excellent build quality and excellent company reputation. The Meridian is pricey, but deliver 500x2wpc, plus a single 200wpc, when configured bridge: this is attractive. I'd appreciate your thoughts?

Thanks.
mdorsam
It would be helpful to know about your speakers, your listening room (size, distance you will sit from the speakers, etc.), and whether you will be using a subwoofer with the system. I can still offer several things to consider, and if you answer back with the info above, I'm sure other readers will be able to "fine tune" the advice.

1. I have no personal experience with the Meridian, but have extensive listening time with the Aragon, and my HT setup currently includes a Bryston 4B-ST and 5B-ST. It is likely that both the Aragon and the Bryston 6B-ST will do a fine job for you, although this is a bit dependent on your speakers and audio preferences. The Aragon is, in most systems, a smidge warmer than the Brystons, but if your speakers run toward the warm side (like Vandersteens do, for instance), you may prefer the Bryston. The 6B-ST, as you know, is the 3-channel version of the 4B-ST, which I have found to be a fine amp, particularly at the price. (The Brystons also have a great 20-year transferrable warranty, and perhaps the finest customer service in the business.)

2. The power rating on the Brystons tends to be quite conservative. The 4B-ST and 6B-ST amps are rated at 250 wpc, but typically are in the 290-300 wpc range.