SOTA Cosmos or Garrard 301 ?

Hi,
what is the better between SOTA Cosmos and GARRARD 301?

Thanks!
nic10
Just a prediciton, but if 20 people respond, 5 will say the SOTA, 5 will say the 301 and the other 10 will say whatever turntable they own.
well instead of those, have you ever thought of getting a..............

to GMuff's point

those are 2 very different sleds
My understanding is that SOTA, under its current ownership, provides excellent service, repair parts, and the ability to upgrade any tt they have ever produced to current configuration.

I can also tell you that my 1983 SOTA Sapphire looks and works as well as it did the day I received it 27 years ago. And that I can pound my fist on the plinth while a record is playing, with light to moderate force, with no audible effect whatsoever.

I have no experience with the 301, although I am aware that it is one of the most highly regarded vintage tables.

Regards,
-- Al
Garrard 301 can be a rumbly noisy thing in a flimsy plinth all the way to a top flight reworked 301 from S. Dobbins and other avid skilled DIYers. So your question about comparison is too non specific and that's before talking about arm, cart, system and personal preference.
"07-22-10: Gmuffley
Just a prediciton, but if 20 people respond, 5 will say the SOTA, 5 will say the 301 and the other 10 will say whatever turntable they own."

Well, so much for predictions. I make turntables, and I would pick the Garrard 301. It isn't that the SOTA isn't a good turntable in its price range, but that the Garrard is an investment piece. I believe it sounds fairly good, but if you don't agree, you can always get your money back. Then, you can try the SOTA. I suppose it is a matter of sequence, so you don't lose money along the road.

Win
Saskia Turntables

That an easy choice: Garrard 301!