rogue audio m150 owners

I have rogue audio m150 monos that are a little over a year old , today I measured my power tubes on a tube tester and I was suprised that my tubes were barely testing "good" . they seemed to have lost most of there power. the tubes are EH kt88s . is this normal ? how many hours is average for this type of tube ? I am new to the world of tubes and I thought I would get 3-5000 hours of good use before needed replacement. Also, have any m150 owners tried any different brands of tubes? Is there one that stands out from the others? please help ! thanks and happy listening!
chrissain

Showing 2 responses by steidlguitars

Chrissain, I own a Rogue 90 and found that the KT88s (Penta Labs) were reading "pretty darned tired" within a year. They still sound fine, though, and I could not distinguish them sound-wise from a fresh set.

If you retube your amps, consider something other than EHs. They are a reliable tube, but they don't sound as good as some others. Even though the Pentas sound very good, I won't recommend them as they have failed frequently for me; of the 8 or 10 I have, 4 have failed, some while very young.

My next set will be Genalex Gold Lion KT88 Reissue Tubes that most people really love.

Tweak, I recently bought a Bel Canto Class D amp (the 300 watt stereo version) which is surprisingly good. In the end, I could not bring myself to replace the Rogue with it (although I wanted to) because there seems to be a magic something the Bel Canto can quite match; very close, but not quite.

I had been driving a set of Dali Helicon 400s and just recently traded those out for a set of Dynaudio Contour S3.4 which the Rogues drive well, but surely are working harder to do so.

Bob
> What is about the EH kt88 sound that you dont like?