Musical Fidelity VLink 192 to kw dm 25 dac

Vinyl has been my preferred source for many years and I think I have a really nice setup. Going forward I need to diversify away from vinyl for various reasons. As part of my cd set up I have a 2006 Musical Fidelity kw dm 25 dac. I propose to use my MacAir as a music source with hi res downloads. Hence, MacAir > VLink 192 > MF kw 25 dac. This to my mind requires a minimal investment of under $300 for the VLink 192 + cables
I am a novice at computer audio. How does the 2006 MF kw 25 dac compare to current dacs at or about the $2k mark e.g. Mytek DSD dac or Nad M 51 ? ? Will I be wasting my time going down this road or should I straight away opt for a current model dac ?
Would appreciate advice/comments
Cheers
128x128sunnyboy1956
Hi Sunnyboy1956,
I don't have the budgets of alot of these guys, but I am on my 3rd DAC and while they have improved from one to the next, the differences have been minimal as I climbed the price ladder. However, I am also on my 3rd USB to SPDIF converter. Same here as far as being very budget minded, but these have made a very noticeable difference. I am currently Using the Audio-GD DSP 3.1(newest version-quite different than original DSP) with both clock upgrades and newest Tenor 8802 chip... It has added an almost vinyl organic richness that I am truely enjoying.... Its just my instincts since I've not heard the VLink 192, but I believe that at your budget, it will make all the difference in the world.
Good Luck, Tim
I own a V Link II running into a Wyred dac1 and it is fantastic!! I bought this off a guy who replaced the V Link II with the Berkley USB converter and he said the sound was "very close" at almost 4 times less the price.
Tim
Many thanks for endorsing my budget minded approach. Hopefully with small steps at a time I will get a foothold in the world of computer audio.
Stereo5
Really appreciate your comments as you have a vinyl set up
Cheers
Pradeep