Mcintosh 1700

Hello all...

I am new to the Mc world so please bear with me

I just got a 1700 receiver from a buddy...I am setting up a 2 room 2 channel in each room system

I have B&W in ceiling speakers in the kitchen..

Totem Arros in the livingroom

and a Musical Fidelity X ray cd

Here are my questions

1) Is this Rec good to drive this system....and is it a good product in general

2) Should i have the rec serviced, it appears to work ok but i dont know what good sounds like for one of these old guys

3) what kind of things should i be looking for...or how can i check to see if it is running well

4) whats the best way to set up an antenna...can i hook the mc to cable in some way....

5) is it ok to hook the 4 speakers to this thing?

thanks for your help

elliot
Ag insider logo xs@2xefoo
Those things have eight tubes in them that should be tested at least. Buying a new set may be easier and will give you more of a guarantee that you are getting the most out of it, since it is more than 30 years old now. I heard a restored Mac1500 that sounded great but that is quite a different design than the 1700.

Hooking speakers in parallel on a 40W amp could be a real problem - I don't recommend it. Your speakers may have a low impedance to begin with which would overstress your amp.

I think it would be worth new tubes at least. Check to see if any of the caps have leaked at the base (brown goo). They may need replacing too. That said, I have seen several really old Mcs that really needed nothing done to them. It is up to you. Good luck!
You can use 4 speakers (2 pairs) on the Mac. It has Main and Remote sets of binding post. Impedance is not a problem for most Macs have an autoformer so it doesn't matter if your speakers are 4/8/16 ohms. Just like Aball said, you might want to check the tubes. Although most of the original tubes in the Mac 1700 were Telefunkens (including my Mac 1700), which are known to last a very long time it is better to check them to be safe.