Just bought a Marantz PM6006, and it it disappointing

My vintage NAD7020 has been acting up, so I decided to get a Marantz PM6006 on sale.  Figured if I decide to upgrade later it could become part of the AV system.   I had no problems hooking up my Linn Axis turntable and ELAC Debut 6.2s.  But when I started playing music, I noticed the music was muddy and high pitched.  I tested on some jazz (Don Shirley “Tonal Expressions”), classical (Villa-Lobos “Bachianas Brasileiras, Nos. 4, 7”), Rock (The Grateful Dead “The Grateful Dead”) and P-Funk (Funkadelic “One Nation Under A Groove”).  The only song that sounded as good as I wanted was Laurie Anderson’s “O, Superman”, with its heavy synthesizer work.  Throughout each selection I noticed pronounced sibilance, and violin and harmonica were actually painful to listen to. Needless to say, I am extremely disappointed.

Granted, I am used to vintage (used) electronics, and I very much prefer the warm sound of the NAD.  So, is my ear just attuned to warmer sounds?  Or does the Marantz PM6006 need a burn-In period?  
128x128Ag insider logo xs@2x16f4

Showing 8 responses by 16f4

I have only been able to listen to the Marantz once since the first day (family visiting...) but it did sound a little less harsh. As soon as they leave I will go full test mode. I have 30 days to return it. Might just work on my old one, because even though it’s old I know I love it...at least, that’s what my wife says.
Chrissain,  Thank you.  I notice on searching through various blogs that the concept of burn in is controversial.  Not sure why, as it should be easily tested empirically. 

Philjolet, did your PM 8004 sound good right out the box?
Just came home from leaving it on all day.  I am noticing a slight improvement after 10 hours.   Deeper bass and less harsh treble.  The snare and bass of Mikes Davis’ “Seven Steps To Heaven” coming out.  Much deeper and wider sound stage.  The experiment continues.