HDMI Cables

Someone recommended I use WireWorld cables.

Man obviously I am a bit of a newbie cause I would not expect to pay $100-500 for (1) HDMI cable.

I just looked them up and there are several types! Plus they are freaking pricey! Is this the cost of being an audiophile! I cannot skimp on the cabling?!!! LOL…!!!

Hoping there are other options?

There's are WIREWORLD's pricing!
Island 7 = $26.00
Chroma 7 = $46.00
Ultraviolet 7 = $100.00
Starlight 7 = $170.00
Silver Starlight 7 = $270.00
Platinum Starlight 7 = $500.00

WOW… anything above Chroma is a push for me! I guess someone school me on the importance and if I really need to shell out more than $50 bucks a cable.

Or someone tell me there are cheaper alternatives that will provide the same results!

THanks ladies and gentlemen!
thx-333

Showing 4 responses by thx-333

HEY JAFANT! Is the $270 Price point for the Starlight 7 worth it? Do you see a significant difference in picture quality? SOund quality? Versus your middle of the road HDMI cables?
Never mind. I found this article which has enlightened me quite a bit.

"Are expensive HDMI cables worth buying? We asked an expert…"

http://www.digitaltrends.com/home-theater/are-expensive-hdmi-cables-worth-buying/

I think I will go with decent price cable from a reputable company. One that is labelled high speed HDMI and active and reasonably priced.

I don't think I need to spend $100+ let alone $270 for a Starlight 7. Seems like Monoprice (posted above) is a great option.

Thank you for everyones input. Hope this thread helps others as well.
Thanks Mofimadness! IT IS a no brainer. At a $10 price point plus the durability of the Monoprice - gotta give it the crown.

In the article (link) I posted above the experts argue that we are no longer in an analog world where the type of cable and length of cable mattered to picture quality. Those days are gone.