Bookshelf Speakers:500-900$CDN Advice for starter?

I'm a university student who is desperately trying to put something together that is decent, something I can enjoy for a few years, music/movies 50/50 split on this system.

The current challenge is I only have entry level components right now so in my mind something like the ATC SCM7s (which are beautiful) are out of reach not just in price but they are going to simply reveal the weakness of my current system to a level that will be intolerable.

I currently am looking at (due to local dealer product availablility)

Quad 11 or 12L
Paradigm
- Mini Monitor or Monitor 5 or Reference 20

I have already auditioned the 12Ls and was very impressed. However the demo was conducted on a beautifully high end system with components (and it was biamped) and I will not have that grade of components, or the capability to biamp for quite some time and am concerned how much of my enjoyment of the audition was derived from the Speakers, and how much was derived from the Equipment driving the speakers.

I will be auditioning the Paradigms this week.

Advice on other brands? I'm in a fairly small market and net purchase isn't an option for me. The appeal of the Quad's asthetically is great as well, but I can pickup a Monitor 5 + Center Channel for just a bit more than I would pay for just the 12L.

Any impressions regarding the 11 or 12L and these paradigms with entry level components would be much appreciated.

As well as any other recommendations of manufacturers that I should examine in this price point.

My amp is a Pioneer VSX-D509S and it is what I will have to power them with for atleast the forseable future.

My concern with my current speakers is that they are a 2way design and I find them often muddled (6.5" tweeter, 8" woofer) which is why I was looking at the Monitor 5s as I was hoping a 2.5 way system would be a bit better for this. 50/50 Music Movie split on this system in a less than ideal townhouse.

Thanks again,