B&K surround model AVR-507

Hello, newbie here, Thanks for having me.
I bought this piece in 2003-5 As a replacement for my Carver pre-amp/Yamaha add on surround sound unit and amps
for the tv/den and sadly never got to it.. I know I know allot of money to have sit, anyways life happens..
So, now I'm try'n to hook this baby up and have it mostly set up. but have a few questions, anyone well versed in the b&k line?
issues if you can call them that..
1) set up menu (on t.v.) got the basic settings down.. but the input settings has a DB level setting is this like a variable line level "gain" or a volume preset for that "source" the manual list it as a tool to level out the volume so when switching from one source to another the volume is about the same, this setting has a -6db to +6db range is there any harm moving to a lower setting or higher setting than zero, I'd think the - settings would be like a preamp limiter that takes some depth/headroom away or isn't totally different, and going to the + set of the range is there and harm sound degrading to doing this, I remember on my old 3rd octive eq(still in use for recording cassettes to cd and vcr to dvd) upping the output level overdrove the preamp input and not advised.. this 507 is plenty loud so the line input gain isn't needed so much for volume, but don't want to degrade the sound by setting the db input range +or- if it is an issue in this regard..
2)the component video inputs do they only work with either the optical digital audio and the rca analog audio and not the coax digital audio? can't find it in the manual other than not to use both optical and coax with the "same" source. I ask because when in set up I used component in#1 for the cable box and the coax digital audio input for the "tv" source selector and I get video(picture) but no sound and no sound from any source until I disconnect the coax audio and reset the eeprom memory to factory settings then get sound .