Muse Model 10

This will be a short post with more to come later. I recently ordered and received my brand new Muse Model 10. This unit plays CD, DVD, DVD-A, and those "Enhanced Audio" discs recorded on DVDs (E.g., Chesky, that Midwest label whose name is eluding me--Classic?). It probably plays all kinds of CD-RW discs also, but I haven't got that far with it.

Here are the stats: I am 56 years old and have been in high-end audio for 25 years. I have plenty of experience. Presently the Model 10 runs direct to my Pass/Volksamp Aleph 60 mono amps. The amps power Quad 989 electrostatics, with and without augmentation from stereo pair of Vandersteen 2Wq subs below 80 Hz. The Muse has a fully differential (balanced), digitally controlled ANALOG Remote volume control. This is how I listen, if it helps to know..

The Muse Model 10 is the best digital disc player of any kind that I have ever heard. It beats my Sony SCD-1, which I loved, and it beats the Wadia 301, that I liked in many ways but found too "furry" and rolled off. ThisModel 10, which will probably never get a review in Stereophile (not English, not ARC-Krell-ML, etc.). But it is simply magical in its clarity, transparency and dynamics. The soundstage and imaging are probably as good as the best vinyl rigs I have had. I wish I had more time right now, but I must go.

I mean this very seriously, or I wouldn't write at all. This is a stunning achievement in digital players. In my system, in my house, it is the best I have ever heard. Really and truly. Costs about $5000.

Good listening,
Jeffrey
128x128Ag insider logo xs@2xjeffreyfranz

Showing 1 response by scotty_910