Being given 2 custom systems but what to ask for?

I am a total newbie who is in WAY over her head. I am going to receive some non-cash compensation as part of a huge settlement. I thought that I'd request some nice audio equipment and am just realizing that this doesn't mean buying the most expensive thing at Big Box store. I want one stereo system for playing cassettes, albums, and CDs and one 7.1 surround sound system for playing back DVDs. I was hoping that people could respond with systems of each kind in price echelons of under $10k, under $25k, and under $50k. The catch? I need to FULLY specify each system, and it's the details like cables, line conditioner, stands, etc, that lost me.

Due to post limits, please ask me clarifying questions as needed.

Thank you!
carrie40
First, figure out one at a time. I'm totally for 2 independent systems.
You need to look at the room where they will be used, how often they will be used and how simple they are to use. Obviously, you need to keep them simple or you won't ever turn them on.
There are some great 1 box systems that can hold their own against the many separate pieces (Arcam Solo for one). However, that takes some fun out of it.
I'd say start by hitting the specialty stores and just listen a lot. Find what works for you: Detail, lots of bass, spacious sound, smooth...and much more.
After a few weeks try posting this again when you know what you are looking for. If you have to decide NOW, that's another story.
Since you are not going to be trying to wring the last amount of performance out of each $, why not specify where you live, so you can get recommendations of a good brick and mortar retailer who can help you out. Our even a good internet retailer. There are lots of folks who have had good interactions w both types, and also who could possibly steer you away from any of the bad guys in your area.