Ayre & Vandersteen

All--I have Vandersteen 2CE Signatures (new model) that I really do like and work very well in my 8 sided, acoustically correct room.
I am using an Ayre AX7E, Ayre QB-9 non DSD version, Mac Mini, Amarra, Verastarr Power cords and interconnect.
Has anyone used any other hi quality integrated as I believe that this amps is a bit underpowered, looking for more control, detail, etc.
I have very little experience with Vandersteen.
The new Ayre AX-5 is three times the price of the AX-7E, is it really worth three times the performance?
I am willing to go to tubes if necessary and prefer integrated amps, Thanks
nystereo
I would stay with Ayre. I know you are asking for an integrated, but I would consider a V-5. That's what I use on my 2's. You definitely won't have a power issue with one of those. Also, make sure your speakers are properly setup going by the manual and double biwire them. It makes a very big difference with Vandersteen.
I just thought of a great integrated for you, if you must have one. A BAT 300IX. It has a lot more power than your 7 and 3 preamp options; 1 SS and 2 tube. I'm sure the Ayre 5 series integrated is great as well, but I havent heard it so I can't recommend it.
I have owned Vandy speakers for many years, and have found
they aren't too fussy about the amp paired with them,
provided:
1. the amp has enough power to "wake them up" --
Vandy's are a bit reticent at low volumes;
2. the amp is tonally well-balanced, since Vandies can be a
bit too "rich"in the mid-range.

I know that Richard V. often uses Audio Research amps with his
speakers at audio shows, so you might try to borrow an ARC amp
for a trial run in your home. From my own experience, I know
that both Bryston and Ayre amps pair well with Vandies. I
currently own the Bryston 4B-SST2 and I think it's terrific
with my 3A Sig's. Not sure about your budget, but the Bryston
B-135 SST2 is a fine integrated amp that should be on your
audition list.