What amp are you using with your Gallo 3.1's?

I bought a pair of Gallo 3.1's in September. I am currently using a Response Audio Platinum modified Jolida 502b with KT88/98 tubes, 60 watts per channel. Input tubes are vintage Tungsol and Valvo. I am, for the most part (audionervosa) satisfied with the sound. Timing, rythm, and pace is good, the sound is happy, toe tapping fun. Very musical. I had a Mcintosh 6900 for a cpl of months 200 watts with autoformers. I was dissapointed that there seemed to be no synergy with these two components. The sound was rolled off, flat, and lifeless in my system, in my house. YMMV

I am just curious what other Gallo owners have tried, what worked well, what didn't, and what you are using now.
leatherneck1812

Showing 7 responses by leatherneck1812

Thanks for the info Dave. I am a carpenter/cabinet maker and I am going to make better stands anyway so the speakers aren't so easy to tip. I will copy Mapleshade and buy their footers.
Russ
Thanks for the input guys.

Goatwuss,

I too was surprised that the Mac wasn't a good match with the Gallo's. As far as high current amps are concerned, at low volumes does it have much impact on the music? I don't have any idea but it seems like it would only become appearant as you turned up the volume and started to tap into the power reserves.

I am anxious to hear what you think of the Wyred 4 sound amps. I have been thinking about trying one myself.
Dopogue,

Do you have the option to use either 4 or 8 ohm taps on that unit? and if so which do you use?
I have now been using a Wyred 4 Sound ST1000 and a Cary slp98 preamp with my Gallos for almost 2 months. I feel I can comment on this combination now having let everything settle in for a while.