Turntables: Vintage Marantz 6300 vs New NAD 533?

hi everyone, i'm new to LPs...just inherited a bunch of old records and i was wondering what would be a better turntable. i don't want to spend too much, so i was either looking at either the entry level NAD 533 vs an older Marantz model that is direct drive...

any advice for a newbie?

thanks.

will be run through a Bryston 0.4B and 4B to Paradigm Studio 60 speakers.
igk
Igk:

Is the vintage Marantz in good shape and being used right now or will you need to get the unit overhauled by someone knowledgeable (good general cleaning; new greasing; part replacements; etc.). To my mind, using vintage equipment is OK, but only makes sense if the up keep is there. A good turntable overhaul will run over a $100 and possibly as high as $200. You may also wish to do a search at the Vintage Section over at the Audio Asylum and see how the Marantz illuminati feel about the 6300.

As for myself, if I only had a choice between the two, I would purchase a new NAD. It is essentially a Rega turntable with a NAD badge and the Regas have always been well reviewed. You also would have a warranty, in the event that something goes wrong.

There are probably other turntables in that price range to consider, but that is something that I will leave alone for now. For someone new to LP's and turntables, a good site to visit is the KAB site . Even if you don't purchase anything, lots of good info.

Regards, Rich

Rich makes good points. I'd take it a step further in saying anyone new to any audio technology is better off buying new so as to gain the support of the dealer. Once familiar with differences in sound and mechanics between one's refernce and possible upgrades, then used is a viable option.
Get an old AR, DUAL or Garrard, REK-o-KUT for about $20 at a garage sale and come out WAY ahead. NAD , rega etc are way over hyped.
"...and the Regas have always been well reviewed."

Ouch!