Thorens TD 166 MK II Suspension?

I found a pretty close to mint one of these the other day for $12.
Anyway should the suspension springs be upgraded/replaced? Seems a bit bouncy to me. This deck was clearly cared for. It was in the original box. I bet it came out of a storage unit.
It works, and sounds great.
I have no personnel experience with Thorens.
My biggest complaint is the spindle. I have had to push records down onto the spindle.
It sounds great. Although I like my Luxman PD 272 very much.
laviathon

Showing 7 responses by laviathon

But that spindle is a pain. Some records, not all have to be pushed down onto the spindle though.
It does sound nice. I have to get a new stylus. I would like to replace the one that's on there now.
Sonus I believe. I think it's the original cartridge.
I have a Grado that I could buy a stylus for.
With the spindle issue I will go back to the Luxman. I think the Luxman is a superior deck.
That Luxman deck is very well built. Sounds great. It's because the Lux decks were made with only a few of them being upgradable that they don't get much fanfare with the exception of a few models.
The Thorens sounds great. But I should take my records and play them on the bare metal platter? That won't solve anything except cause me to have to push the record further down on the spindle. I have a valuable record collection that I would like to keep nice.
I have records I would like to play without pushing them down on that half ass spindle.
I just find this recommendation odd. If anything you would want a thicker mat, and raise the arm. That makes more sense then the opposite.
And the stock Luxman arm has no plastic, and is excellent.
I will tinker with the Thorens a tad more, but I am not impressed. Thankfully I never spend anything on this stuff.
To each his own. The Luxman cost $15 with a perfect condition Grado Cartridge/Stylus. And doesn't bounce. Laughing.