Technics SP-10 MkII vs. Yamaha PX-3, PF1000

Does anyone have an opinion on the sound and operation of the Technics SP-10 MkII versus Yamaha PX-3, and Yamaha PF-1000? Thanks.
fineaudio
While I have never compared the three TTs, I have owned the Technics and heard and installed the Yamaha PF-1000. The Technics would be my choice but it is only a turntable and it's reproducing ability is very dependent on the arm and cartridge you use with it. The PX-3, while I have no experience with it, is a straight line tracking TT that may be difficult to maintain. If sold on the PX, I would try and find a PX-2 which was the more robust model.
The Technics is, by all opinion I have heard, a great DD TT. The cost of the TT and and a good arm to be associated with it would put it in an entirely different money class than a Yamaha PX-3 (or PX-2 for that matter).

There are several threads in the archives praising the PXs as good value for money. I would agree on the PX-2 vs PX-3 idea. The PX-2 is a fair bit heavier and came a couple of years earlier when they were trying to make the PX-1 affordable for more people. The PX-3 came a few years afterwards for the masses. I think they are both great value for money as they come with okay linear tonearms already and aren't much money all things considered. With a well-bought PX-2 and a Denon 103 one could be in sweet city for a lot less money than it would cost to buy something of similar quality new. The trick is either to find a well-maintained one or a cheap one where one is willing to work on it a bit.

Disclosure: I have a Yamaha PX-1 which is the papa of the PX-2 (which itself is the papa of the PX-3). I am very happy with it.
T bone, I got a beautifully kept PX-2 now. Thanks for the advice. In your experience, how good can the PX-1's performance get in terms of cartridge choices? Ever tried using the exotic ones, like the Koetsu on the PX-1? Thanks for the insight.
Glad you found a PX-2 (and hope you got it cheap).