SME 312 or SME 312S for a Technics SP10 mkII

Hi everyone,

I'm wondering if I should go with a SME 312 tonearm ($1500 USD) or a SME 312S ($4000 USD) for a Technics SP10 mkII project. I'll probably use it with a panzerholz plinth and a moving coil cartridge (actually I have a Dynavector DV20X).

There is a good difference of price between the old SME's 312 serie and the new one. Does it worth it? Is there some of you who had the chance to compare them?

Thanks,

Sébastien
128x128sebastienl
Sebastien, Sounds like your on the right track. Though I have no experience with the SME arms it makes sense to get the 312s to me. Better arm material and wiring.

I have the Boston Audio mat 1 as well. It's a good mat and definitely better than the stock rubber mat. The CU-180 is expensive and hard to find but it's worth it IMO.

Good luck with your SP-10 mk2. It's very good when it is optimized.

Sean
Hi David,

Like I said above: "I'm actually on an exchange of emails with Albert and I must admit that he is really patient even tough I asked him a lot of questions regarding his plinth and the Technics SP-10 mkII in the last week..."

Plus, I've order last week-end a SME 312S arm, a Denon DL-103R and a Nagaoka MP-50 cartridges.

To Sarcher30: I'm very interested by the Micro Seiki copper mat, but for the beginning, I'll probably go with a Boston Audio mat 1.

Have a good day,

Sébastien
Cdk84, I recently picked up a Micro Seiki CU-180 TT mat for my SP-10 mk2a and it made a world of difference to the noise floor of my TT. If you are still using the rubber mat I highly recommend the CU-180.

Salut Sebastien,

I am delighted your Technics is in great shape; that's not always the case. Good for you.