Review: VIOLECTRIC PPA V600 Preamplifier

Category: Preamps

The PPA V600 was designed by Fried Reim, CEO of the German Company Lake People/Violectric. Violectric and Lake People have a US/Canada distributor/reseller in New Jersey http://violectric-usa.com operated by Arthur Power. Both Arthur and Fried are available for technical inquiries, and have answered many of my questions.

The V600 is a relatively new product and has just become available for the North American market. It retails for $1400.

INTRO:

This summer I contacted Arthur Power and inquired about the V600 when looking to buy my first high-end phono preamplifier. I was interested in the V600 for a number of reasons but first let me give you the context of my background with high end audio.

I am an artist and designer with a great appreciation for extremely well crafted products. With regards to audio, I first truly fell in love with audio equipment when I bought a pair of Klipsch Cornwall speakers and a Adcom amp as a teenager 26 years ago. I listen to music obsessively and started listening to vinyl again in 2010.

When considering a phono preamp I wanted something I would have for a long time as my system grows and changes: a versatile preamp (variable gain and loading capability), a neutral yet dynamic sound, a low noise floor, and an attractive and quality build. The V600 met all of these parameters. I also considered the Musical Surroundings Phonomena II, the Soundsmith MCP2, the Jasmine LP-3.0, the Ray Samuels XR-2 and the Jolida JD9 MK II. All of the above mentioned preamps seemed to satisfy my parameters but in the end I chose the V600.

BUILD QUALITY AND AESTHETICS: