really small speakers less than 500

I am looking for a really small speaker the smaller the better something like the old ads speakers with a maxium whoofer of 6 inches yes I know bose has some really small speakers but lets talk at least in the league of paradigms to start, thanks Nick
128x128happynick
New or used?

A 6 inch woofer isn't really small. Lots of good little speakers with 4-5 inch woofers.

Cabinet size? i.e., no bigger than, e.g., 14 by 6 by 8? Smaller?
Since you define "small" as having up to a 6" mid-woofer, I'll assume you will consider small monitors. I recommend you look at the Krix Equinox. It's reasonably small (front dimension is about 7" x 11"), but is an outstanding little monitor. I have been using a pair in my office for about 6 months, and I think they are terrific! They sell new for $600, but I bought mine used on Audiogon for $300.
Maybe the B&W Leisure Monitors. Under $350, and they are versatile and stylish. Although limited in the bass, they can begin as a main speaker, be used as a rear surround later, and end up in a bedroom or porch even later. Has a built in stand and wall mounting system. Mine are being used as rear surrounds now, and have that classic B&W sound. Maybe not the "best", but one of the better brands.
Check out a pair of used Linn Tukans. They are about as good as it gets for their size.
Happnick, www.goodsound.com has a list of affordable speakers in the size you mention (Paradigms, PSB. B&W, NHT). If space is a consideration then audition the PSBs as they're designed to be placed near walls, something apartment dwellers like me have to deal with. Happy hunting.
You might want to give the Boston Acoustics line a listen. The CR series might work for you, and they're about as small as it gets (short of the Bose cubes, but they do sound a whole lot better!) And the Paradigm Atoms are pretty decent for their size, as well.

chas