Preamp suggestions 1200$ used

Hey everyone! thanks for taking the time to get this far and read my post!
I'm looking for a preamp for my system.
I'm an audio newbie, and my current system consists of the following:

Tyler Ref. Monitors
Rogue Magnum 88 amp
CAL CL15 cd player
SignalCable shotgun biwire (bananas)

currently using a Denon 1801 receiver as a preamp and I think that I could do much better than this receiver.
I'd like to ask for your help in building a short list of preamps 8-15 that I could follow up with some research and hopefully some inhouse auditions. Like I said, I'm new to this so any help is appreciated.

Things that are important to me:
1) resale value/demand (no joe's custom preamps)
2) I only use a cd player, soo...no other inputs are required
3) I need a remote volume control
4) I am using a powered sub along with my monitors so it would be nice if the preamp had a sub output (dunno if this is standard? or scarce?)
5) I dont have a preference to tube or solid, like I said, I'm a newbie, I just want SOMETHING for starters
6) I'm an upgrader, depending on the impact of the preamp I may choose to upgrade my speakers soon.

thanks for any help!
Geoff
geoffgarcia
If you could sacrifice the remote, either of the
above are outstanding preamps. The ML-1 is an early
Levinson, but has superb soundstaging, taught bass,
and a very clean, nonfatiguing high end. I bought one
about 7 years ago for $900 and sold it last year on
eBay for $1050, and I've seen some sell for even more.
It is an excellent value around $1000. The SP-14 has
an excellent phono section, is very rich and dynamic,
and is very configurable. It too can be had around
$1000. Both have a ready market for resale.

I can't think of any preamps in that price range with
a remote which offer the build quality, excellent
performance and retention of resale value that these
two possess.