Organ..

I'm looking for suggestions on the biggest and baddest pipe organ pieces ever written, as well as specific audiophile recordings of these pieces. Suggestions for both CD and vinyl sources would be appreciated. I'm looking for MASSIVE dynamic range, and EXCRUCIATING detail. I want an organasm...
gthrush1

Showing 2 responses by jimmy2615

Gthrush,

allow me to put in my two cents....just some background, I am a guy who was raised on organ music on my Dad's huge Bozak speakers with McIntosh tube gear (60's vintage) and loved it so much I studied the organ for nearly 20 years! (God bless him for giving me the gift of music, and damn him for the disease of audiophilia...)
That having been said, let me add to the other messages by elaborating on recordings; I am not so sure that it is just a system that can not reproduce such a massive instrument, but that it is also hard to record. The best organs are in huge cathedrals - where do you put the mike(s) and how do you capture the space?
Anyway, I agree that many of the mentioned recordings are excellent - and they are probably some of the best for overall quality of recording, dynamic range, and overall detail - all the things you wanted (for some of the best low pedal notes the Rutter Requiem on Reference Recordings --check out #9-- is great, if you have a good sub or true full range). BUT....you said you wanted to really enjoy the sound of the organ. Pomp and Pipes and all of those ARE great, but they are played and recorded on organs used as accompanying instruments. You need to listen to a REAL organ.