Nuforce STA200

I am curious about the Nuforce STA200 amplifier  If anyone has experience with the amp it would be appreciated if you would share your listening impressions, both good and bad.  Some of the descriptions I have read classify it as a class AB amp and others a class D amp.  I am not technical savvy about these things, can a single amplifier be both? 
Thanks
George
jetter

Showing 16 responses by brad1138

I just bought one from Audio Advisor, and shortly after, the listing changed to "Demo" model for $400. Looks like I might have got their last "non demo" one. :)
I had to sell my Mark Levinson #331 a few days ago (I needed the cash...) To "replace" it, I bought a like new Vincent SP-331 off CL for $600 and this, I am going to sell whichever one I like less. 

I have been running the Vincent since yesterday, it is nice, but I am really missing my ML  :(  

If the NuForce is as good as you say, hopefully it will be closer to the ML...

If neither do it for me, I may sell them both and look at the new Class A amp from Schiit when it comes out. 

I am running a pair of Tekton Lore-S speakers and have a Schiit Freya pre.
Those are certainly some nice speakers, if it was "good enough" for those, I will probably be happy :)
Have one on order from Signal Cable. Reviewed very well for under $100 PC. 

I also picked up a Proceed BPA2 (on its way) I really miss the ML and I am hoping it will be a somewhat close match. Between the 2 amps, I am sure I will be happy :)
OK, installed and running, just a couple hours on it...

WOW, for $500 this is incredibly good. Everything above that was said about this amp is true. 

I need time to really sit back an assess it, and I want to let it burn in a bit  before that. But initial impressions, great bass extension (much better than the Vincent SP-331 I tried, and better than my B&K reference 200.2 from my other system) unbelievably transparent, fantastic imaging. Deep sound stage.