My MA252 saga

I decided to write up a not-so-short summary of my saga, mainly because when I was doing research on reddit, forums and review sites, I I had a hard time getting advice and finding reviews of setups that were similar to mine: my music collection is on my PC, mostly as Apple Lossless (.m4a), and played through iTunes. I also have a few 320 kbps mp3s. I have been using iTunes for >10 years and I like it because it allows me to have smart playlists based on play count, time since last play, recently added, most played, top rated etc. So for example when I get add new music, it automatically goes into the Recently Added and the Unrated playlists. I have compared iTunes to Foobar and VLC and cannot say that I can tell the difference, so I have not felt a need to stop using iTunes. Similarly, I have compared CD to FLAC to m4a and cannot tell the difference. Perhaps my equipment is not good enough, perhaps my hearing is not good enough, perhaps my DAC is not good enough, perhaps my generic power cable is not good enough. Or perhaps software and file type are all OK.

My current setup:

PC (motherboard) --> generic SPDIF cable --> Integra DTR 20.3 receiver --> Monster Standard 14G speaker wire --> B&W 683s.

I listen to music in my office (12x16) where speaker placement is asymmetrical, but I have no other way to place them. I am ok with my current setup but want to take it to the next level.

As an aside, I play guitar and bass (also a rabbit hole of chasing the sound dragon). Knowing and being used to what instruments (and a full band) sound like in real life gives me a frame of reference for music.