Modern day equivalent for KEF 105/3 speakers

Hi everyone

I'm in need of some assistance and I couldn't find a thread in the archives to revive.

What would be some speakers (floor-standing or bookshelves) available today new or used that would sound just as good or better than a pair of good condition KEF 105/3s?

A pair of KEF 105/3 speakers that are in need of some TLC have become available. I've done the pricing of repairs, parts, projected acquisition cost etc etc and my potential total expenditure for all could be at least $1500.

I'm a KEF fan and have a very strong bias towards KEF but I'm trying to figure out if the min $1500 expenditure is worth it when there are lots of alternatives out there. I'm trying to see what speakers these equate to as I have limited experience.
128x128jedinite24
I don't think you could get a very good full range 3 way speaker that would be close to the 105/3 for $1500 today. I had either that one or the 105/4 years ago. In fact I wanted to be a KEF dealer and offered to start by taking 3 pairs of 105/3s. The rep told me I could only have one pair but had to take all of their little ones as well; I didn't have room for them so went with B&W instead; they didn't care what I ordered. The early 801s are a natural alternative to the 105/3 and you should give them some consideration unless you strongly prefure KEF. Older speakers are one of the best buys in audio in my mind; repair costs are unlikely to be anything like the huge inflation in price speakers have gone through in recent years. But MAKE SURE spares are still avalable and the company is still supporting the model you choose. I have 8 pairs of speakers and all but one are 20+ years old and still competive at a very high level.