MMF7 + MF A300 + ML Aeon = Goosebumps?

OK. Here is the deal. I am getting back into audiophilia after a prolonged absence. My first foray was a little "mini bedroom reference" system: Cambridge D500SE/A300, RA Labs Mini Reference (an ST rave). Then I took an ill-considered detour into HT - Sony DVP-NS700P, Parasound RSX-972, PSB Image 7PT/8C/1B. Don't get me wrong, the gear sounds good, but ... no goosebumps.

Or at least, not that often. I have very eclectic tastes (Ben Harper to Elvis Costello to Bill Frisell), but I think a unifying theme would be well constructed songs - some craft in the lyrics and music. Plus I have a bunch of vinyl that I don't have a way to play.

My criteria for a system are that it has to be made of unfussy, well made pieces (I am an engineer); it has to look simple and elegant (I am also an architect); and it has to sound great (I am also a musician, sort of, I am a drummer).

I have a little dough and space for a dedicated music room (11 x 18 x 8), so I am thinking for about $5K I can not go wrong with: the new Music Hall MMF-7 turntable, Musical Fidelity A300 integrated, and Martin Logan Aeon speakers (Demo/NIB/Lite Use/etc). I heard the Aerius speakers two or three years ago and was knocked out (mucho goosebumps) and I understand the Aeons are easier to drive. Have heard an MMF5. Don't have any experience with the amp.

I would love to hear people's thoughts on this combo and particularly any direct experience. (Also, in this price range I have steered away from tubes, but maybe I should not. Something like the small C-J or VTL integrated with maybe a mini-monitor would work, yes?) I want PRESENCE. I want to believe I am there. (I can sacrifice very low bass and very high SPL.)

Sorry to be so verbose, but the posting guidelines suggested more info was better. Thanks for taking the time.
scotthmartin
Hi Scott,