Mcintosh c-2300, is it worth the money?

I'm new to high end hi-fi, but learning. I recently purchased a pair of mc-501's. I plan on buying a tube preamp. I like the aesthetics of the c2300, but don't know much about it. I'm also looking at audio research sp-10, because everything I've read about them is positive. I'm trying to stay under $5000, new or used. Aesthetics are not as important to me as sound quality, but would like to have both. Any ideas?
apinman
Had a new C2300 in my system for awhile. It was far and away the most musical, natural pre-amp I've heard. The dual MC/MM inputs were especially nice as I have two tables. Build quality is second to none. Downsides? It took forever to warm up (the main reason I traded it for a C50) and it didn't especially like electronic music (not a real problem for me, but some of my stuff wasn't as listenable as I might have liked).

The SP-10 is also a truly sweet piece. Honestly, you wouldn't go wrong with either one.
I have spent a fair amount of time comparing McIntosh and Audio Research equipment through the years. I too like the McIntosh aesthetics, but for critical listening Audio Research is typically the hands-down winner.
I have owned a SP10 MKII and I currently own a C2300. The SP10 is a high maintenance unit and it eats tubes! If you don't mind spending listening sessions trouble shooting it is a descent sounding unit, but the C2300 sounds every bit as good if not better and it is extremely reliable and QUIET! You also know it will work with your amps! I am constantly amazed how many people take a crap shoot hoping their amp and preamp will work well with one another. Don't do it! Buy the C2300 and be happy! That's my opinion anyway! Good luck.