Like the new look to audiogon ?


Noticed this morning that a change happened on the site.   

If you go the category section and click on Amps / Solid State,  you then see all the thumbnails of the amps that are for sale.          Its a little confusing as first you see the BOOSTED LISTINGS, then after that is the FEATURED LISTINGS.....then you see ALL THE SOLID STATE LISTINGS. 

Gone is the category view of the listings......
riley804
Hopefully this action will start to hurt and make Agon react.
I was in the process of buying an item until this debacle occurred.
I notified the seller that I will not give Agon any of my custom until they fix this mess.
Now if some of the larger sellers get more instances like this Agon will have to listen and act.
Auto reply from Agon
I say auto as surely no human with an ounce of common sense could have seriously typed this reply!

JUL 03, 2018  | 09:28AM EDT
Sarah replied:

Hi Kevin,

Thanks so much for your feedback on this. It truly is invaluable.

Our research shows that the new layout will be a boon to the site and will increase the browsing experience over time but we do need to work on the bugs and tweek some of the features.

We are working on this and we appreciate your patience while we work on those issues.

Thank you for being a valued member of the Audiogon community. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you with.


In an effort to improve your customer service experience here at Audiogon, we'd like you to rate the service you received today here. Check out what other users are saying about Audiogon as well here.
Thank you,
Sarah
Audiogon Support Team
http://app.audiogon.com/

Where is the admin? She is usually very quick to post an update or info on the forum.
I agree with all the comments.  The new setup sucks big time.  This will cost Audiogon and sellers big time.  Too much unrelated crap comes up on search.  You cannot go into a category and then narrow the search for a specific brand.  Old format was light years better than this. 
What a mess. You're supposed to change for the better ,NOT the worst. The site makes it imposible to do anything
@uberwaltz, if that is their reply, then all is lost. Dont expect any changes to this godawful format.

Once they see how much money and members they're losing, maybe they will address the problem. But by then it will be too late.

First thing every morning I used to look at new for sale postings over the last 24 hours. Not anymore, too much like hard work with the new format. Can we have the old format back, please!
The new look is terrible and very difficult to use. Please give us back the option to see a LIST of components without pictures, sortable by price, date listed, etc. In the meantime, I will not be listing anything for sale on Audiogon, and I do not anticipate searching the new-look listings for possible purchases, either.
@lowrider57 

Yes that was just a direct copy and paste of their email reply to me from this morning.
Truly I could not make something as silly as that up!

As you say it shows that they have no grasp as to the enormity of the unfolding situation and are going to attempt to just stick their head in the sand and wait till the ruckuss dies down.
Unfortunately when they reappear they may just find themselves all on their own!
Post removed 
It's so obvious that the new search format is ALL about collecting more fees. It has nothing to do with change for the better.

I have been a loyal member for 17 years and use the site almost daily to look for new gear and develop my system. The new search format is ill-conceived and a prime example of incompetency at its worst. For me the Audiogon site is now nonfunctional and I'm not going to waste my time trying to dig through pages of unrelated small images trying to find what used to take only a few seconds.

I stuck with it through the take over in 2011 but now this new format will never be acceptable to me. The only solution is to can this mess and go back to the sensible text format. The only way this will happen is with money. I'm done buying and selling anything until this disaster is fixed.
Their spreadsheets show a nice uptick in revenue as people are forced to pay more for boosts, ... . They failed to include a significant exodus of disatisfied customers into their model. 

I work in Marketing and specifically in bringing the voice of the customer to my company’s product development processes. This is a text book case of failing to ask customers what is important to their daily browsing and buying practices and then develop their solution around that. It may have taken only a few tweaks. They were so busy figuring out how to raise revenue that they failed to take customer need into account. A classic blunder.

Most businesses think that this kind of investigation takes too much time. They want the solution out right now. Let’s see how long it takes them to fix this mess. 
And Agon think this is all ok and will sort itself out.
TBH they do not deserve any future business.
Just placed my items on ebay and craigslist for now
Will look at usa audiomart later.
Post removed 
emails from today:

Dear Audiogon Staff,
I would be much more inclined to learn the ins and outs of your new update if it were not for the blurred "key-hole" style pictures. I would suggest changing that one aspect of the update and maybe members would be a little less upset, including myself.
Thanks,
Oran.


Hi Oran,

Thanks so much for your feedback on this. It truly is invaluable.

We understand your frustration and we are working on resolving the issues

We appreciate your patience while we work on this.

Thank you for being a valued member of the Audiogon community. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you with.


In an effort to improve your customer service experience here at Audiogon, we'd like you to rate the service you received today here. Check out what other users are saying about Audiogon as well here. 
Thank you,
Sarah
Audiogon Support Team
Must agree, without the list view the website is useless for quick browsing. 
Oran
Your Agon email reply is basically a carbon copy of mine proving it is just a canned response and that they really do not have a clue.

Elizabeth

Let them take the thread down and ban all the naysayers on it, what would that really matter? They have already committed Hari Kari.
Rumor is they are going to stop the discussion forums. Their research shows that most people on the forums never buy or sell anything and there is no profit in maintaining it. But hey that's just rumor!
How about people take a chill pill and give Agon a chance to work things out?

Yes it was poorly done as it was last time they made a major change several years back and everyone complained but guess what people are still here.
I'd hate to see it but it would not surprise me if the forums were nixed.
Are you actually selling anything here Mapman?
I do not believe so and if you were then you might not be quite so glib about the situation.

Also if their present email replies are anything to go by then they do not seem to actually be aware of the huge blunder they have made.
Just my thoughts...….
I vote to change it back. Very cumbersome.
i hate the new look.   It would be nice if they provided an option to switch between the old and new format.

Gone is a quick easy way to scan the listings.


Uber I am not currently.

Hopefully Agon takes some action to help pacify those who are affected and squares away what is needed sooner rather than later.

I would not want images in an ad I payed for intentionally obscured because I did not pay to have them not obscured. that is just outright dumb. Agon should consider offering  credits for those ads but still keep them running until normally complete.

Also if I were agon I would provide these major enhancements in an optional preview site for feedback and not jsut drop major changes on customers out of nowhere totally unexpected.

That is what the company I work for which maintains a major and prominent web site does. You have to value your customers feedback and opinions and use it to guide what is done, not jsut drop something new on everyone because somebody somewhere thinks its a good idea.
Agreed, the changes at terrible 

N
Hopefully Agon has some viable technical option to rollback the site to prior state if needed.  

They definitely need to issue some kind of statement that addresses the apparent widespread concerns.
We really want to thank you for your feedback on the Search and Listing View changes. There were a few technical glitches with the search functionality, and we will be working quickly to rectify those to be more accurate. We will be introducing the ability to switch between the Classic View and the new Grid View in the coming days so that users have control over their preference. We appreciate your patience. Again, thank you for your support of Audiogon and for your honest opinion on this matter.
Post removed 
Thank you for at least realizing you have a major issue Admin.

My for sale items are presently moved to other sites and will only return after you have resolved present issues to the majority satisfaction.

Have a great 4th July, you certainly brought the fireworks!
Admin, if by "classic view" you mean list view as available before, this is great news!   You should know that the Grid View renders your site almost unusable for me when browsing for particular brands and items.  And I need to have a field at the top of the listings, in any category, into which I can enter a search term, such as "Revel".
I too will be listing on other sites until I am convinced that Agon will fix the site to be something useful again. 
I agree 100%
Grid View renders your site almost unusable for me when browsing for particular brands and items. And I need to have a field at the top of the listings, in any category, into which I can enter a search term, such as Revel



This new system is very annoying. 
@rhassle
This is a text book case of failing to ask customers what is important to their daily browsing and buying practices and then develop their solution around that.
They were so busy figuring out how to raise revenue that they failed to take customer need into account. A classic blunder.
This is true. But can you explain to me how this new format will raise revenue? With this "Grid view" I can't tell the dealer ads from the private sellers. The Boosts have always been there, but now the entire page is a jumble of images.

Bring back the old format get rid of these STUPID pictures with the DUMB circles PLEASE WAKE UP QUICK before there are NO members left.HELLO!!!!!!!Thanks Admin.
Totally hate the change!!!
Most here don't seem to like change. I have been here a long time and it seems that everytime Audiogon makes changes they believe will better the site, people cry foul, question their motives, whine, pout and threaten to leave forever because the grass is always greener (at US Audio Mart, etc.)......
What I have mostly seen is that Audiogon listens to the feedback (especially if provided constructively) and then continues to modify and improve based on what users are saying. I have every confidence they will get this right eventually.
In this case, I agree with most that the tile layout is cumbersome and the "looking through a porthole pictures are simply dumb." I get that paying more gives those advertisers an upper berth while the others are below decks, but I suggest simply omitting the pictures for ads that are not upgraded. Giving us the option for a "classic (i.e., list) view" is a good recovery, but a beta run of the new layout and request for feedback would have been a more effective approach since there are some pretty smart folks here that would have appreciated the respect of being asked their opinion and the opportunity to weigh in on a trial version.
If it ain't broke......
Post removed 
Pretyy much all other sites got it right by now ie offer choice of list or grid view and grid view shows a thumbnail picture the seller chooses for no extra cost.  No thumbnails displayed are obscured.   

Also provide comsistent search capability regardless of view type. 

I've been wanting a grid view for fast searches on Agon forever.   Now is the chance to get it right. 
Can't say as I disagree on them having the option of grid view Mapman.
What was/is ludicrous is that they would roll out some half baked attempt that satisfies NOBODY.
in today's fast moving world you rarely get a chance to make matters right after such a serious disaster without suffering some pretty large consequential damages.

I just sold an item on audiomart that I would have listed here.

Agreed.

This appalling new format has completely cured me of daily viewing of various categories, thereby saving me no doubt $$$.

The portholes are quite impossible.  Thanks A'gon for saving me money, but if this is your business model, you better check back with those consultants...

"you better check back with those consultants..."

Maybe the consultant was an undercover agent for US Audiomart.

One more vote that the new format/layout is lousy for browsing.

Inefficient as it takes more time to scroll through listings.

We used to be able to organize by date, dollars or alphabetically. Now what?
 
Lot easier to shop on US Audio Mart.

Oh yeah, they do not require a fee to post a listing over there either.

Dsper.




I would say the masses are revolting.

Well I tend to say that about most people regardless but you get my drift.

Will be interesting to see if Agon can recover from this.....
what person could have thought this would qualify as an upgrade. without qualification it sucks!
Our research shows that the new layout will be a boon to the site and will increase the browsing experience over time but we do need to work on the bugs and tweek some of the features.

"Increase" the experience??  "Tweek" the features?
Somehow this does clarify things a bit, though perhaps not the way you intend....
Post removed 
It's just another way to make you pay $$ more for listing.
Now if you really want your ad to remotely be seen you have to pay more.