Krell 500 vs. Bryston 9B

Anybody compared these two amps? I would be pushing Dynaudio speakes (4 ohm).

Thanks in advance for any comments.
shadowfax
Which models of Dynaudio would you be pushing? I have no hands-on experience with the Bryston, so unfortunately, I can't give you any comparison. I have owned the Krell KAV500 for a couple years now, and for the last year have driven Dynaudios with it. There are a lot of detractors on this particular amp - not really a Krell, etc. I think it's a great HT amp in general. The Dynaudios sounded good, but then I bought a Krell KAV-250a for the L/R fronts and that really brought them to life.

Bottom line - if you're driving a set of Dynaudio monitors, it's probably a good match. If they're the bigger speakers, it'll sound good, but you really need more amp for the bigger Dynaudios. I doubt the Bryston would be much different since it's rated approximately the same. You can get the Bryston for a bit less money, and that's probably wise, though the Krell / Dynaudio combination is a really nice one. -Kirk

Thanks for the info. I am driving Dynaudio 1.8 MKII's and am wondering if I even need to have a surround amp. My rears currently are Bose 201's (may upgrade later) and my receiver will need to be upgraded later as well (to a preamp/processor). Perhaps the 250a or the Bryston 4B-ST would be a better way to go just to push the Danes in two channel. I do like HT alot. HMMMMM.
I have a friend with that model of Dynaudio that he drives with the Arcam 100 w/ch five channel amp (same as the KAV-500), and he gets really great sound. I have the 3.0's up front. I really liked the 3.0's driven by the KAV-500 - it was just that much nicer to go to the 250. My guess is that you'd get excellent sound if you go with the 500 (or the 9B for that matter).