I have been using the Cambridge 851 CD player for a few years and want more.

I have too many CD's to get out of the medium. I wonder what you would recommend (from your experience) as an upgrade for the 851 which I kind of like. should I consider a new player or adding a DAC? I'm retired so I can't go with the most expensive options. Please advise.
Thanks,

Ag insider logo xs@2xdonpepe

So many other threads that you could draw on for information.

Probably best to get a couple of DACs with return privileges, hook them up and see how much of an improvement you notice.  It may not be exactly cheap to achieve an improvement that you consider significant enough.

I have a Cambridge 851-C cd player. Try an Ayre Codex connected to it. A nice improvement IMO. 
I use an 851C as well and was pleasantly surprised how much it improved with the Synergistic Black fuses; there are two. I also run a Nordost Vishnu PC which really brought out how good this player is. No doubt a DAC could improve things, but I’d still recommend changing out the fuses first and if you’re using the stock PC change that out too before you spend money on a DAC. I also use Ayre mrytle blocks which also elevated the 851 sonically. Point is the 851 is a fine player that has more potential than in its stock form.