HP Pavilion dv6700 and Cambridge Audio 840c

I've searched for an answer to this but couldn't find anything.

I'm completely new to computer audio. I'm thinking about trying to connect my HP Pavilion dv6700 to my Cambridge Audio 840c through the digital input. The idea is to stream digital to the 840c dacs, then out through the amp.

Has anybody done this? I'm pretty sure that my computer has a means to do this. If I go into 'sounds' window, I see a "high definition digital device (spdif)" listed as working. From what I can tell, there is some kind of optical digital output in one of the headphone jacks. Do I just get a cable that has an rca jack on one end and a toslink on the other?

Any help would be appreciated here. I know nothing about all of this. I intend to just start by listening to Spotify through the sound system.
michaelg7
Michaelg7, If you have an expansion port 3 on your laptop (which I think you do), here's what you'll need: HP QuickDock 2.0. It's not the most streamlined solution, but it works and it's your only option. HP is no longer using the expansion port 3 on their laptops so this product is tough to find and may only be available used or refurbished. Back in 2006 HP made a cool multi-function cable (just a cable - no docking station at the other end) that connected to the expansion port of my ZD8000 and provided SPDIF out. I bought it for $29! Good luck.
Maybe I should have added how the connections are made: The QuickDock will connect to your expansion port 3 and then you'll connect a digital coaxial cable from the SPIDF output on the QuickDock to the digital input on your 840C (nice player by the way).
Eleet,

Thank you for your response. I'm so new to this that I don't even really know if I have an expansion port 3 on my laptop. How would I find out?