help with harshness / brightness - cary 303-100

I'm really new to audio. I've just set up my first system. Its: plinius 82000 int. amp, well tempered classic TT with upgraded arm and platter, cary 303/100 cdp, energery veritas 2.3 speakers. I just added the turntable last night and the entire system sounds great. I am now wondering if I have a problem with my cd player fitting into my system or if there is a cable tweek that can help. The harshness that is present really makes me turn the volume down and after a short listening session ... loose interest and leave the room. I'm currently using the reference 2 monster cable for interconnects and monstercable 12 gauge flat wire for my speaker cables. I'm ready to purchase cables ... is there a cure? Or should I try another player for my system that is less bright? Room treatments?
andrew7540
In my last thread I claimed Cary was a modified panasonic. That is wrong. The modifications were done on a pioneer.
I too thought the Cary and several others sounded bright. Try a Linn Ikemi, very smooth, especially with acoustic music.
I had the Cary cd player from 6 years ago. The one where you place the cd in upside down. While other people liked them I thought it was ultra bright and it WAS tubed. Very fatigueing. I am not sure if it is the same player as the one mentioned. He was using panasonic cd players and modifying then
The speakers, not the CDP are the problem. Cary is not bright and is forgiving of brightness errors. IMHO.
I just replaced my Bettercables.com silver serpant speaker reference cables with Cardas Golden Reference cables and I can not believe the difference. Everything opened up and the music came alive. Get rid of those monster cables before you do anything else.