Help with a pair of Focal Aria 948 please

Greetings People.

Let me introduce Myself please. I am a total novice to the Hi -Fi world. When I was a child I lived with my old brother, and he had an old Marantz Model 4240 feeding a pair of Celestion Ditton 33 Speakers. That setup was continuosly playing at home, and I grew up listening to them, and I got my ears used to that wonderfull sound.

Now that I have grown up, I thougth it was my time to get a nice equipment for myself. First of all I wanted a 7.1 set up to watch movies at home, and got a Marantz SR7008 receiver. I was planing to get a good Turntable, feed it to the marantz, and be able to hear our own vinyl colection again, then I decided to get some good main speakers, and purchased a pair of Focal Aria 948. That was my first novice mistake, since soon it was clear that the Marantz is a good 7.1 Amplifier, but it lacks when you intend to power the Arias 948 with it.

Told the problem to my dealer, and he lend me a Devialet 120 Amplifier, so i could feed the Focals properly, with that kind of gear, I should get the sound quality that I remebered from my childhood, but, to my surprise and alarm, the experience was a disapointment.

With the devialet the Arias sounded much better, of course, but I feel that the speakers lack bass power. The sound is very clear and defined, but I find it lacking in presence. It doesnt "fill" the room, dont know if Im expressing myself properly. Tweaked with the amplifier a little adding more bass, improved a little, but still not the bass I remembered from childhood, added more bass and then the sound turned into a mess.

So guys, I Dont know if the problem are the Speakers, the amplifiers, or maybe the problem are my expectations, that are too high, please give me some advice, Im pretty disappointed with my purchase.
krorghar