help-lexicon mc 12v5 vs. mac mx135

assembling home theater- listen to 2 channel only 20%( mostly acoustic singer/songwriter and brazilian jazz off of cd), and tivo'd shows and movies( new hi-def tivo) 80%---like warm musical sound--have sonus faber cremonas and center, prob get concertinos as the surround for 5.1 channel system- have a mac 207 7 channel amp( keep it or ditch?)---what pre/pro do you recommend?---mac 135, lexicon 12,something else? --or wait for new mac ap 1000 as the audio side and just use my tivo as the scaler for video?thanks for the help-i'm a newbie at this
slvrtravel
Wow pretty ambitious system for a "Newbie"!! Mac is great and you have synergy if you keep your amp, Lexicon is a great piece for HT also look at Anthem. What size is your room? (with a 7 channel amp you could go 7.1 if your room is medium/large to a large room). I would also put some serious thought about budget and stick to it (good cables and interconnects for HT snow ball fast)
Good luck in your search!
yea, really ambitious is my style--thanks for your thoughts- room is 16x25 but no area behind sofa for rear speakers--some say lexicon not great for 2 channel, meridian really good for both but expensive and kinda technical for me( as much as i read here i still can't even figure out what meridian cards i'd need---i know mac isn't loved here but maybe works just fo the audio part?-buying all used and got a good idea of what i need to spend---but don't have chance to try this stuff and hoping to get some insight from you guru's
Slvrtravel: