Gather around JoLida 100a owners

This is more just out of curiosity. I currently have as you might tell a JoLida with a level-2 mod from underwood. What I'm wondering is can an outboard dac be added and if so have any of you done so. The DAc that I'd consider would be the Prima D/A Converter 24/192 MKII. Do you guys think this would be an improvement.

Any and all suggestions are welcome.

Cheers

freakygreek

Showing 5 responses by distortion

Sure you can use an outboard DAC. I use a Theta DAC from time to time and also the DACs in my Processor.

From what I have read, the AA Prima DAC is a fantastic performer, I havent heard it yet. At 3x the cost, I would certainly expect it to be an improvement.

Of course you would probably want a top notch transport to compliment your new high performance DAC. The Jolida's is a fairly common Phillips CDM12.10, I believe.
Freaky, Hehe, I know it, audio gear really knows how to exponentially increase in price.

Honestly I am fairly new to DACs myself. I havent heard that many. I do know that there are many competent makes and models to choose from, with widely varying sound characteristics.

A few DACs that come to mind are Enkianthus, Audio Note, and Electrocompaniet. Thats off the top of my head. There are tons more and certainly others here at the 'Gon have more experience than I do in this matter.

I am leaning toward a Bel Canto DAC2 to upgrade my Theta DSPro Basic I. I suspect it will not better my Jolida (I love the tubes) but, just like the Theta does now, it will offer an SS alternative. Some music just sounds better on SS. Honestly I am very happy with the Jolida. My current upgrade path is speakers or amp first, so it may be a while before I get around to upgrading the CDP.