Cary CD303/200 or CD306/200?

Hello.

I'm trying to decide which player I should go for and am having a tough time as there doesn't appear to be much info on these players. I've read all posts here on Audiogon and still feel as if I need more info. Has anyone tried these players? How about the older CD303 v. the CD306?

Specific questions:

What sonic differences should I expect to hear?

What functional differences exist between the units?

Would I be able to use either player as a DAC for my DVD Player (Sony DVP S7700)?

Cary's site lists the CD306/200 as a Transport/Processor and the CD303/200 as a CD Player - what exactly is it that constitutes a Transport? I don't see anything that would stop me from using the CD303/200 as a Transport. Then again, I'm pretty new to this stuff.

I realize the CD306/200 is better, but am trying to justify the additional cost. Please help.

Thanks in advance.

-Kevin

My equipment list:

CD Player: ?
Interconnect: Home Grown Audio Silver Lace
Pre-Amp: AES (Cary) AE-3 DJH
Interconnect: Home Grown Audio Silver Lace
Amp: AES (Cary) SuperAmp DJH
Speaker Cable: Kimber 8TC
Speakers: Vandersteen 2Ce Signature
chexxchexx
Try at www.audioasylum and use the search engine and type Cary 303 and 306 and also more specifically: www.audioasylum.com/audio/digital/messages/29031.html
303 can be used as transport using its digital outs. but the 306 has digital inputs so it can be a processor too for external sources.

what you are paying for in the difference between these 2 units are the dacs and audio output section on the 306, really (plus the 306 inputs i guess).

the 306 offers upsampling dacs that are burr brown 1704s which are 24 bit dacs.

the 303 also uses the 1704s (one per channel whereas the 306 uses 4 per channel). Both are using the PMD 200 filter.