Boulder 1008 advice on cartridge loading

Hi everyone.
Just got a new Boulder 1008 phono stage to replace my Herron VTPH-3.
My cartridge is a Benz LPS.

I was expecting to be blown away on first listen but was not. The output was half that of the Herron which has led me to suspect the default loading of 100ohms for the MC setting is not correct for the Benz LPS.

Having just pulled out the Benz instruction manual it states the recommended loading is 500ohms to 47,000ohms.

I am fairly new to the whole vinyl thing so do not know what this means in my case with the Boulder 1008.

Any comments would be appreciated.
vmhf
The load does not impact the output; it is the gain function of the phono preamp that determines this. Do you know what the gain level is for your new preamp and that of your older one?
Boulder 1008 MC gain is 70, while MM gain is 40. With that amount of gain for MC you should be more than fine. Are you sure you're not on the MM setting?
Yes, 100 ohms is too heavy a load (too low a resistance value) for your cartridge to provide good sonics, based on Benz' recommendations and on the cartridge's specified internal impedance of 38 ohms.

There will be a small loss of volume as a result of the heavy loading (a little under 3 db), but as Steve indicates the main effects on volume (as opposed to sonics) probably result from differences in phono stage gain. However, it appears that the gain of the Boulder when set to moving coil mode is specified as being greater than the gain of the Herron VTPH-2 (I am not aware of a VTPH-3), which is perplexing.

In any event, looking at the manual, you can change the loading to 1K (1000 ohms) by simply disconnecting the resistor on the "personality cards" for the left and right channels, for whichever of the two turntable inputs is being used.