best used amp around $2000 for B&W N802s

I am looking for a used amp in the $2000.00 range to power B&W N802. I here they take alot of watts to run, but i have also been told that 100 class a watts are better than 200 a/b watts. as most of you can tell i am new to this and could use some advice.

Thanks

Jake
schoon
I'm very happy with my Classe CA-200 (newer model, same guts as CA-201). Used is about $1500, perhaps a bit more.

Despite the name (pronounced "Class A"), I don't believe these are "pure" Class A amps. They are massive and heavy, and they do produce lots of current and heat.

- Eric
Try a Nuforce8 amp they have a 30 day return at $1600. There's a link here on Audiogon. Report back to us if you decide to try.

Good Luck!
There are a couple of pairs of Odyssey Stratos Extreme Monoblocks in classifieds here right now. Both are asking around $2,000. Don't know if you've ever auditioned Odyssey, but those would give you ~300W per channel of class A/AB goodness. Worth considering, given the reviews, etc.
Musical Fidelity A308cr Power Amp. In fact, if you could get two and vertically bi-amp, it'd be awesome!
Bryston 7B-ST mono-blocs. LOTS of power, & each unit weighs only 50 lbs, + you'd get whatever is left of the 20 yr. warranty. Don't underestimate the need for a high power/current amp with larger B&W's......
Thanks alot for all of the different options i will read some reviews and see if i can demo some of these amps.

Thanks

Jake
The Conrad Johnson MF2500A would be a good choice as well. I can not comment on the sonc characteristics of class A versus A/B other than class A runs hotter and will need better ventilation.

Chuck
Consider a used Mark Levinson 331 power amp which outputs 100wpc @ 8 ohms and 200wpc @ 4 ohms. You should be able to find one in excellent condition for about $2200. Use a bi-wire instead of a single wire configuration to get smoother highs and cleaner midrange.