Best Pre/Pro for under a $1000 used?

I currently have a Aragon Soundstream Pre/Pro and I was wondering if anyone thought there is a nice upgrade out there used for under 1K? I have been looking at numerous options but I have no experience with them. Some are the Anthem AVM-20 V2, Meridian 565, Proceed AVP-S, plus other models from Lexicon, Krell, B&K etc. I use it about 70% music, 30% movies. Any advice/opinions would be much appreciated. Thank you

doug
hyadstroya
03-30-09: Hyadstroya
Hi Johnnyb53,
Is the Outlaw going to compete with my current Aragon Soundstage in two channel music listening? That's where the Aragon really shines for a pre/pro. I don't want to sacrifice two channel in order to get the most up to date surround features.
Well, that's sort of my point. The Outlaw 990 is on closeout at $699 (down from about $1199 at its peak) because it *doesn't* have the latest surround features. What it does have is 7.1channel in and out, a very good linestage whether running in 2-channel or 7.1, and an excellent upsampling DAC that goes up to at least 96KHz, maybe 192, I can't remember.

My previous preamp was a VSP Labs Straightwire II, a handbuilt preamp from the mid-'80s that was still exemplary in transparency, speed, neutrality, and musicality. I didn't feel like I gave anything up in those areas when I dropped in the Outlaw 950 first and then the Boston AVP7 a year later. And if there's something I notice right away, it's when resolution drops and the music loses its communication and excitement. That Sherwood-Newcastle-based unit is a really fine unit. It's very smooth and musical, quiet, linear. I think it's a really good line stage.

The best thing is that unlike most used gear at that price range, you have 30-day return privileges if it doesn't impress you.