Best Budget Rig sub $600

Hey out there.

I'm a college student currently running a pair of Sennheiser 600s through a Rega Ear amp. This minimalist setup has served me well throughout my college years. In a few months I'll be moving into my own apartment and I'm ready to invest in my first substantial home audio system.

Here's the deal:

I don't care about surround-sound. I just want 2 channels. All I want is an amp and a set of left/right speakers.

Anyone have any recommendations? It's going to be a relatively small apartment and I am not going to need a ton of volume. (I don't want to disturb my new neighbors)

After cables and such, I don't want to spend more than $600 bucks.

After browsing C-net's electronics reviews for a few hours I've come up with the following setup. Let me know if you think I can do better! Here's the best deals I've found:

Amp: Harmon Kardon HK3480 ($260)
Speakers: JBL E90 ($209)
jonnyrocketti
I helped my cousin match that same receiver with Athena speakers. If you can find some Tannoy MX series speakers, they would be a good pickup. Lots of good value price/performance cables available.
There are a pair of Kef Cresta's for sale on A'gon as well as an NAD C720BEE receiver. Nice combo that comes in under your budget.
Just use cheap interconnects and speaker wire until you have a system that is resolving enough to notice.
The JBl speakers are not that good and you can get much better for the money.

Good luck!
For speakers, pick up a pair of Wharfedale Diamond 9.2 speakers currently for $250 (list $550) at Audio Advisor . Can't do too much better for the price.

For your amplifier, go with a NAD C320BEE integrated amp ($400 list) or alternatively, if you can spare an additional $200, an Outlaw RR2150 receiver directly from Outlaw Audio .

I own all three components and am very pleased with how they perform.