Best Amplification for B&W 802D

Hi -

I'm new to audiophile systems, and I don't want to become an expert. I just want it to sound good. I've been slowly building my system. I have a set of 802Ds, an 800 series center channel and CM5's for my rear channels. They sound like hell with my Denon AVR 3805. The center channel is too bright. There is virtually zero base response in the 802Ds and the highs can be painful. So, I'm looking to upgrade the amplification system. The local stereo salesman is recommending an Anthem MCA Amp ($2,800) and an Integra DHC-40-2 processor ($1,800). Any advice? I'm a single Mom and this is at the extreme of my price range. Will the system sound good if I add these components? My computer stereo system sounds better right now.
tathata
If you can, go somewhere where you can hear your speakers in a setup first before buying.

Or make sure you have a satisfaction guarantee with a clearly defined return policy.

Yes, it "should" sound pretty good, but actual goodness is in the ear of the listener. The question is will it? You won't know until you try. make sure you have an out if it doesn't meet your expectations.

Also, if you hear your speakers in a setup elsewhere, ask lots of questions to get some confidence whether or not that will translate into sounding good in your specific room before buying, even if satisfaction is guaranteed.
Hi Tathata, if you are new to audiophile systems that is one hell of a speaker you have there. As you have discovered, speakers like the 802D are very demanding on amps. Anything less and it will show up the amp mercilessly.