Bat VK500 SS Amp and Cary 306 direct?

I would like to get your opinion(s) on this? I just bought a brand new Bat Vk500 and is thinking of purchasing a CD player that would connect directly to it. Is this a good idea? Any suggestion of a brand of a player will also be appreciated.
My system:
Tyler Accoustics (Linbrook) speakers
Toshiba SD 9200 (dvd)
Onkyo (receiver - needs to go)
NBS interconnects and Oracle V2 (speaker cables)
BAT VK500 (SS Amp)
I'm thinking of purchasing a BAT VK30SE (tube preamp) but read a thread on directly connecting the CD to Amp and thought I'd better pose this before taking the plunge. I'm a novice at best on this and would like to get help from the experts. I would like to spend between $2k to 5k. Thanks in advance.
ligabry
The BAT VK30SE is a world class pre amp.I would prefer to use a pre-amp whenever possible.Extra voltage swing will give much greater dynamic contrasts,more vivid and lifelike suondstage.Most cd players with variable output have a op-amp linestage and a very poor volume pot.This means they sound grainy and really do not present lifelike contrasts.I have heard the Krell KPS25 cd-pre-amp single box and its spectacular! Of course it is 25K.I would really recommend the BAT VK30SE, it hit my hot button!
Hey Ligabry,

I have a VK-500 and drive it with a balanced Theta Miles. I think this is a great combo. Much better detail than when using a preamp on my system. I haven't listened to to the Cary, Levinson, Wadia, Accuphase or Capitole players.

-Karl
Also worth looking into are the Accuphase units(DP-75v and Dp-85), Resolution Audio CD-55 and Audio Aero Capitole. This has been covered many times before and me mixing two of the brands I just did will most likely lead to controversy, though I am sure you couldn't have known about that when you posted this question.

Hey audiogon where is the FAQ section??

Tim